Good luck Mel…

Mel McMahon was released by traffic.com following the afternoon show on Monday. We wish her all the best and will be in touch to lend a hand.
Here is Mel(foreground right) with Terri Stacy(Left) and me(looking for a key to hit in the dark), during a Colts Pre-Game Show in the Hurst Bean Lot. Taken fall of 2008
mel,terri,me
Photo from Mel McMahon’s Facebook page

6 Responses to “Good luck Mel…”

  1. I have to say that the shakeup they have done at WIBC has been dissapointing from the start. I actually loved the morning show with Terri and Jake. They played off each other perfectly. Jake would say the most obnoxious things and Terri would feed off of it. Made for great radio. Then that took Joe away from you. You guys also worked so well together. Joe could set himself up perfectly to be the fall guy in about anything and you were always there (along with Mel) to bring the jokes home. You being let go REALLY bothered me…yet I listened on.

    Mel no longer being on the show is the final straw for me. I absolutely LOVED Mel. She is extremely intelligent, has an amazing wit, and just made it a blast every time she was on the air. She also was a DARN good Traffic Reporter. Mel you definately are missed, and I really hope I find out wherever you land again because even if it’s country (and I haaaaate country, lol) I’ll switch to get your traffic reports and hopefully to continue to hear you as the great radio personality you are. 🙂

    • We miss Mel on 105.7. My husband and I turn the station whenever the traffic report comes on. Mel had a voice made for radio and was funny! She interacted well with the other radio personnel.

  2. Dave Collins Says:

    Mel,

    It disturbs me how WIBC treats valued employees like you. One day
    you are there, the next you’re not. I am showing my age, but I still remember Easy Gwinn, Fred Heckman, Bill Baker, the pick a pocket live radio show downtown. It is a shame to see real radio personalities
    vanish into the ether, with no explanation. You were a bright spot on an
    otherwise unexciting broadcast daily. as was Dave Wilson. You both are missed.

    Good Luck and Best Regards,

    Dave Collins

  3. It’s time WIBC get rid of the neck ties The economy obviously is the reason for abrupt changes. Going FM was a very bad idea. I’d listen to Colt games and regular broadcasts all the way to Charleston WV in my semi with it’s generic AM/FM CD player radio. . Now you’re only guaranteed if you are inside 465. The FM signal sound like there’s a condom over the mic and they’re speaking in a secluded soundproof bunker. AM signal made it seem like you were there, sitting next to them. Incoming callers are hard to understand with the FM signal.
    Back to personalities. Jeff Pigeon simply had to GO! Jake and Terry worked well. Dave, Joe and Matt were great. I must say that Dave’s political soapboxing near the end, sucked hard. (best left for Greg G. at least you’re asking for it.) Steve Simpson (hello everyone?!? UGH! give me a break) is an adequate news reader but his constant condescending cynical barbs on air SUCK. (at best, a garage band version of Dave the King) Mel always sounded shrill, with a loud annoying nasal screech. back away from the mic or turn down her gain, unlistenable! Amber Stearns was great. Her easy “genuine” laugh is terrific and engagng! Unfortunately, her recent show hosting opportunties are nothing more than a karaoke version of Steve Simpson. (a real shame) She has the potential to find her own identity and progress, but I don’t hear it happening at all.
    In closing, I hope you can tell that I care and am listening. Ken Sterling needs to GO! The only thing worth listening to are the news broadcasts, delivered by a collection of talented and credible readers.

  4. Big Mike Says:

    I concur with Greg. I liked the shows much better when done on AM, LOVE Terri & big Joe, miss Matt and Dave. Can’t stand Steve Simpson. Doesn’t have a good voice for radio and his game just really, really sucks! I quit listening to the afternoon show.

  5. I gave it this long and I have decided to turn the station. Don’t like the changes. Loved it the way it was. I miss Mel! She was absolutely fantastic! Mel good luck out there in this moth eaten town. You are simply the best on radio. You have the voice for it and with your great personality made that radio show. Take care and again I will miss you greatly!

Leave a comment